Home » Who We Are

Who We Are


The Institute for Research in Economic and Fiscal Issues was founded in 2002 by representatives of the civil society coming from the academic and business world and willing to establish an efficient platform to investigate fiscal and taxation questions. As a matter of fact, taxation may be considered as a many-faceted issue and existing studies are mostly incomplete if not biased. The need to explore systematically and completely the question was obvious to IREF’s founding members. It can be asserted that this need has also an emergency aspect. Tax studies can no longer ignore the globalisation process and the consequences of this evolution on the magnitude of tax competition.
Nowadays IREF’s research interests are numerous and range from taxation to education, from public spending to housing, from health care to retirement. Policy makers are currently under the strain of two opposite forces: centralisation and harmonization on one hand, devolution and competition and globalization on the other hand. Eager to cross knowledge from economics, statistics, law studies and politics, IREF seeks to create a starting place for thoughts and proposals about various economic policies. In order to achieve its goals, IREF is editing books, reports and academic studies. IREF’s experts are covering the European current events related to taxation and economic policy and you can find every week on our website their comments and analysis.


Board of Directors

Jean-Philippe Delsol (Chairman)Delsol Avocats, Lyon and Paris

Eudes Baufreton – Union nationale de la propriété immobilière

Prince Michael von Liechtenstein – President of the Board of Directors of Industrie- und Finanzkontor, Liechtenstein


Scientific Committee

Enrico Colombatto (Chair) – Università di Torino

Eudes Baufreton – Union nationale de la propriété immobilière

Jean-Philippe Delsol –  Delsol Avocats, Lyon and Paris

François FacchiniUniversité Paris 1 Panthéon Sorbonne

Jacques GarelloProfessor (Emeritus) at the Aix-Marseille Université

Pierre GarelloAix-Marseille Université

Karl-Friedrich Israel – Université Catholique de l’Ouest, Angers

Nathalie Janson   NEOMA Business School, Mont-Saint-Aignan

Michael von LiechtensteinIndustrie- und Finanzkontor, Liechtenstein

Alain MathieuContribuables Associés

Jiri SchwarzAnglo–American University, Prague

Agnieskzka Słomka-Gołębiowska – Warsaw University


IREF Research Fellows

Sergio Beraldo, University of Naples Federico II
Patricia Commun, Université Cergy Paris
Anita De Franco, Politecnico di Milano
Hannes Gissurarson, University of Iceland
Andrew Glencross, Université de Lille
Karl-Friedrich Israel, Université Catholique de l’Ouest, Angers
Gordon Kerr, Cobden Partner
Silviya Lechner, Anglo-American University, Prague
Bob Lyddon, Lyddon Consulting
Mohamed Moutii, Independent Scholar
Samuele Murtinu, Utrecht University School of Economics
Francesco Ramella, Independent Scholar
Paata Sheshelidze, New Economic School, Tbilisi

David Stadelmann, University of Bayreuth
Miroslav Svoboda, Anglo-American University, Prague
Claudia Zeller, Independent Scholar


Managing Director France

Nicolas Lecaussin


You may also like